Logo der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften

Mittelalterliche Bibliothekskataloge Deutschlands und der Schweiz (MBK)

Menu

MBK digital (in preparation)

MBK Database

The MBK Database is a structured repository of the hitherto collected project material providing both an overview of the work already done and a basis for further research. It enables easy access to the complete collection of published and unpublished medieval library catalogues together with their key data, making the information sortable and full-text searchable.

The database contains information on:

  1. the location of the original library and the name of its owner: archdiocese, diocese, place, name of the person or institution owning it
  2. the library catalogue itself: type and content of the source material, date
  3. the present-day location of the source material: place, institution, signature, folio numbers
  4. the state of research and edition, links to online publications and digitized reproductions etc.

Included in the database are a) the contents of the previously published MBK volumes, b) material which has already been collected and is in the process of being edited; c) material being gathered in the course of ongoing research.

The database can thus be viewed as a complete index of the past and future work of the MBK. It also has a complementary function to the already published volumes, allowing the compendium of edited medieval library catalogues to be supplemented with information on more recently found sources and new research publications. The project can thereby take into account and profit from the improved access to library and archive collections and the new digital research possibilities.

The database is not just conceived as an important resource for our project work; also humanities researchers working on a wide range of subjects such as biographical studies, the history of books, libraries and institutions, or literary transmission and reception will find here a rich source of information. By making it accessible online to the research community, the project “Mittelalterliche Bibliothekskataloge Deutschlands und der Schweiz” hopes not least also to profit from its users’ amendments, additions and input.

MBK Manuscript Catalogue

The online manuscript catalogue is a complete record of all manuscripts and early prints referred to in the previously published MBK volumes. Of particular interest are the manuscripts and other documents that are not themselves edited but are identified as belonging to the original book collections or simply mentioned in the historical introduction. The manuscript catalogue indexes all such material with references and signatures, making it searchable for research purposes.

Logo der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften

Mittelalterliche Bibliothekskataloge Deutschlands und der Schweiz (MBK)

Menu

MBK digital (in Vorbereitung)

Das Repertorium MBK

Das Repertorium ist als Datenbank konzipiert, um das bereits gesammelte Material zu ordnen und um weiteren Recherchen eine Struktur zu verleihen. Mit einem Blick werden alle mittelalterlichen Bibliothekskataloge unserer Sammlung mit ihren Kerninformationen bereitgestellt. Die Daten sind nach diversen Kriterien sortierbar und im Volltext durchsuchbar: Sie enthalten:

  1. Angaben über den Ort der Bibliothek und die Institution bzw. Person, die sie besaß: Erzbistum, Bistum, Ort, Name der Person bzw. Institution
  2. Angaben über den Katalog selbst: Art und Inhalt der Quelle, Datum
  3. Angaben über Überlieferung des Dokuments: Ort, Institution, Signatur, Folioangaben
  4. Angaben über den Editions- und Forschungsstand, Links zu digitalen Veröffentlichungen, Digitalisaten etc.

Das Repertorium erfasst: a) den Inhalt der bereits publizierten MBK Bände; b) Materialien, die bereits gesammelt und für die editorische Bearbeitung bereitstehen; c) Materialien, die durch weitere Recherchen angesammelt werden.

Insofern kann das Repertorium als eine Art Gesamtinhaltsverzeichnis der bisher erschienenen und noch zu erscheinenden MBK-Bände betrachtet werden. Darüber hinaus wird es möglich, die bereits publizierten Bände durch Hinweise auf neu entdeckte Quellen zu ergänzen und an den Forschungsstand anzupassen. Damit kann das Projekt der fortschreitenden Erschließung und Erforschung von Bibliotheken und Archiven sowie auch der digitalen Entwicklung mit ihren enorm gesteigerten Recherchemöglichkeiten Rechnung tragen.

Das Repertorium ist somit nicht nur ein wichtiges Hilfsmittel für die Erschließungsarbeit der MBK, sondern bietet auch wertvolle Information für vielfältige geisteswissenschaftliche Forschungen (etwa biographische, buch- und rezeptionsgeschichtliche und institutions­geschichtliche), die mit mittelalterlichen Bibliothekskatalogen arbeiten. Durch die geplante Online-Stellung möchte das Projekt Mittelalterliche Bibliothekskataloge Deutschlands und der Schweiz diese Materialsammlung der Forschungsgemeinschaft zur Verfügung stellen und hofft, durch Ergänzungen oder Korrekturen der Benutzer zu profitieren.

Das Handschriftenregister

Das Online-Handschriftenregister der MBK enthält alle Handschriften und Drucke, die in den bereits publizierten Bänden der MBK verwendet wurden. Besonders interessant sind dabei Handschriften und Dokumente, die nicht ediert, sondern nur ausgewertet oder erwähnt wurden: Auch sie werden hier mit Fundstelle und Signaturen recherchierbar.